Prayer & Fasting (part 1)

Would you join us in prayer and fasting?

We were matched with our son Matias (February 9th, 2022) and have been waiting for the Thai government’s approval ever since. Once we receive this approval, we can start the ball rolling on his immigration process, visa and travel to bring him home (4-6months later.

After the 2, january 5th approvals we were excited to see movement again, though 1 of the families was behind us in line… we were told it was a special situation. At the January 18th meeting… 8 more families were approved (which is amazing!!), 5 more after us. We are thrilled for all the movement and the 10 families moving ahead. We completely trust God’s timing…however before this last board meeting God started stirring my heart.

As I was praying for the January 18th board meeting, I wrote in my journal “the enemy doesn’t want these kiddo’s joining Jesus believing and following families” “Father thwart his delays”, 8 families were approved!

The next evening (after the board meeting outcome) a friend of ours and prayer partner messaged us a similar message, God put on his heart “your boy will only come home by way of the throne” “I’m interceding for breakthrough”. Driving to Church Sunday January 22nd, the story of the disciples trying to cast demons out of a man and failing came to mind….”This will only come to pass by way of prayer AND fasting.”

In my time with the Lord today I was reading Joshua 9-11 in my Chronological reading plan. I listen to an 8minute “bible recap” by Tara lee cobble after each days reading. What really stuck out at me was this part. Joshua prayed for the sun to stand still, God listened and answered with yes. Charles Spurgeon said “Joshua set his heart to obey God and the days were not long enough for his battles, God did not hasten his victory, he lengthened his days”. He had an intimate connection with the Lord, He could have prayed for a quicker victory. He asked for something impossible and God granted it, what if he had prayed for something even bigger for a quick victory? Our God has great things in store for his kids, he’s big on the merciful, miraculous, and he loves us.

Would you join us in asking Him for something big? Would you pray and fast sometime this week? during the meeting?

The next Board meeting where we could be approved starts February 1st at 8am in Thailand so 6pm January 31st Colorado time. I’m not sure how afar ahead they prep the file to be reviewed and presented at the meeting so start praying NOW. The meeting goes all day, with approvals typically happening in the afternoon.

Would you interceede with us? Asking him to do the impossible and approve us at the February 1st meeting

One of my favorite posts on fasting, go check it out: Fasting – What is the Deal with It Anyway?? – Place Called Simplicity (linnysaunders.com)

“When I fast I say, “Lord, I am here fasting for such and such. I am asking that you move and do this or that. But Lord, ultimately I want to be able to accept your plan. Give me the grace to do that.” Then I proceed to pray and ask Him how/what I should pray.It is wonderful to have friends to fast with. There seems to be even more supernatural power before God when a group collectively gather for a common cause.”-from Linny’s Blog.

**Sometimes we hear the results of the meeting the evening of the following day, so the evening of the 1st in colorado, sometimes not until the next week…we will let everyone know as soon as we know

Your faithful prayers all these years means the world to us!

3 thoughts on “Prayer & Fasting (part 1)

  1. I’m so glad your sweet son has a family! Hope y’all get approved soon. If you are able, and your son wouldn’t mind, I would love to hear more about how it goes after adoption, as hearing other’s experiences will help those who are considering adoption. ☺

    • Thank you Clara, we did recieve FA Feb. 1!!! I will do my best to share what I feel I can share in the days/weeks/months after bringing him home. I know the first year and years home are the most challenging part, so stay tuned. God is with us and will carry us, moment to moment like he has this far. Feel free to reach out anytime.

      • Wonderful that you got approved! Of course I do understand that you may decide that much sharing is the best for your family and I completely respect that. However, as I plan to adopt when I am old enough, I do love hearing updates on families who have adopted! 😊 Thank you for creating this blog and inviting me to reach out. I wish all the best for your family and your son!!

Leave a comment