Prayer & Fasting (Part 2)

First of all if you haven’t read the first Prayer and Fasting post, go back and read that first, here’s the link https://theadventurousroad.wordpress.com/2023/01/24/prayer-fasting/

We are blown away by how many of you joined in this, you guys love the Lord deeply and are passionate about what’s on his heart. So many texts and messages, we are praying and fasting right now! I received a message from a family during the week leading up to January 31st (I met them on our spring break Juarez mission trip in 2015) they adopted 20 some years ago and had a similar situation/sensing the spirit prompting to pray and fast before they saw breakthrough.

The body of Christ coming together into the throne room, praising Him, pleading for him to move on our son’s behalf. I’m in tears thinking of this incredible scene.

Gods word says to ask and not doubt (James 1:6), however the week before the meeting I heard from our agency that she didn’t anticipate a lot of approvals moving forward due to 11 being approved in January (much of last year there were only 0-2 approvals a month). That tossed doubt into my heart, but we proceeded in faith anyways, God will do what he pleases, despite what is visible to our eyes, what we have seen happen or otherwise. God is not limited, period.

January 31st, The meeting started at 6pm Colorado time, we are all praying, all week, all day and especially then. 8pm a text rolls in from a friend and prayer partner “Was just praying and felt there was a persistent barricade of the enemy coming down”, in my mind I’m thinking wow God is tearing down these strongholds, is this really happening tonight?!! I also know sometimes he asks us to persist in prayer for weeks/months.

My plan for the night was to head to bed around 10 and invite the Lord to wake me up anytime in the night to continue interceding until around 2am when I assumed the meeting would end in Thailand. He has woken me up many times in the night to pray for specific situations or things for specific people and many times I was blessed to hear from those people and how it was aligned perfectly to a need they were experiencing at that time. Those times really build your faith and encourage you to keep praying when God puts something or someone on your mind. As I got in bed, I couldn’t sleep. I know God doesn’t need me to stay up with him, He doesn’t need me in order to work…but he invites us to come sit with him. The bible often portrays God as our shepherd and that night I felt like he was sitting on the hill watching over his flock, ruling and reigning through the watches of the night as he does and he was patting the grass next to him for me to come and sit and just be with him. There’s no where else I’d rather be. I enjoyed his company through the night…just before 2am I asked him is there any truth you want me to hold onto as I go to sleep. Lately I’ve been reading in Judges, the sections where it flip flops between people following Jesus then disobeying and being held captive again etc. Typically when I ask the Lord to speak to me he directs my thoughts to something I read earlier that day or week in his word, however nothing has stood out in the last couple of days in my reading.

Psalm 33 popped into my head (I haven’t read this in quite a while)…as I was flipping the pages to get there, I was secretly hoping he would reveal an answer or give me some sense of the outcome. Then I began to read….and the psalm is ambiguous, it wasn’t an outcome answer, it gave me no sense of what the end result would be…but it was directing my heart to HIM, he was giving me himself which is way better than any answer.

Sing joyfully to the Lord, you righteous;
    it is fitting for the upright to praise him.
Praise the Lord with the harp;
    make music to him on the ten-stringed lyre.
Sing to him a new song;
    play skillfully, and shout for joy.

4 For the word of the Lord is right and true;
    he is faithful in all he does.
The Lord loves righteousness and justice;
    the earth is full of his unfailing love
.

By the word of the Lord the heavens were made,
    their starry host by the breath of his mouth.
He gathers the waters of the sea into jars[a];
    he puts the deep into storehouses.
8 Let all the earth fear the Lord;
    let all the people of the world revere him.
For he spoke, and it came to be;
    he commanded, and it stood firm.

10 The Lord foils the plans of the nations;
    he thwarts the purposes of the peoples.
11 But the plans of the Lord stand firm forever,
    the purposes of his heart through all generations.

12 Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord,
    the people he chose for his inheritance.
13 From heaven the Lord looks down
    and sees all mankind;
14 from his dwelling place he watches
    all who live on earth—
15 he who forms the hearts of all,
    who considers everything they do.

16 No king is saved by the size of his army;
    no warrior escapes by his great strength.
17 A horse is a vain hope for deliverance;
    despite all its great strength it cannot save.
18 But the eyes of the Lord are on those who fear him,
    on those whose hope is in his unfailing love,
19 to deliver them from death
    and keep them alive in famine.

20 We wait in hope for the Lord;
    he is our help and our shield.
21 In him our hearts rejoice,
    for we trust in his holy name.
22 May your unfailing love be with us, Lord,
    even as we put our hope in you.

My heart filled with peace as the truths in this passage of who He is are what he wanted me to carry into the night and next day/days as we wait for the outcome. right before falling asleep I prayed, either way help me respond in a way that pleases and honors/glorifies you and draws others closer to you.

I woke up just before 9am and wondered….what will the outcome be, will we hear today? This week? Next week? Psalm 143:8 was instantly on my mind “ Let me hear of your lovingkindess in the morning, for I trust in you. Teach me the way in which I should walk, for I lift up my soul to you.

And I was reminded of psalm 33 from last night, sing to me, praise me….so I began to sing and praise him.

To be continued…….

Leave a comment