The continued wait

It’s been 8months since we saw our sweet boys face for the first time :). It’s an interesting thing to love someone so deeply that you’ve never met, never spoken to, and are unsure of when you’ll meet.

Earlier into our match I confidently quoted what we were told, 10-15months until travel, however the entire process has slowed down since end of July. Our program has seen zero movement in 3+ months now which I guess isn’t unheard of. In mid August we were asked for some clarifying information on our file which meant our file was being prepared by our Thai social worker to send to the thai govt board to have the govt social worker review it and ultimately be put in the pile to be presented before the board for approval.

For some families this has meant approval within a couple of weeks, but more often on the shorter end it has meant approx. 4-5 months until approval, up to 9+months. At this point…We have NO idea when we will receive approval. We DO know that currently it’s been 4-6months after approval until travel. We only make one trip, when it’s GO time, we will be bringing him home with us. That will then begin our season of cocooning, just Mike, myself and our boy.

In the meantime…

I’m loving this season of life and yet continue to deeply grieve; I’m investing eternally in those the Lord has placed in my life❤️. While I envisioned my 20’s and 30’s looking completely different than it has… I’m finding Gods vision for how He wants to spend our lives is best, even though it’s so hard to lay down our dreams and vision. He knows how he made us, the stories we’ve lived, the gifting, the experiences, the way he’s molded us to meet specific people and walk with them in their stories, walking towards Jesus together.

Long ago I came to the realization that I don’t have control, I cannot plan when or how my family is built or how many kids I’ll have the honor to mother, and that broke me. In many ways it still does. I carry unspoken dreams in my heart (I bet you do too) that He knows, I have many ideas of how I think He could use me…but ultimately, He invites us to lay down our lives and walk with Him, every day. It’s amazing really. I have a hard time surrendering my dreams, especially when it comes to building a family.

I’m yours Lord, spend my life for your glory, bringing your kingdom to earth, whatever that looks like. Thank you for the life you have given me, for inviting me to join you in your life, sharing in your oneness and love, sharing your goodness, your streams of living water with others. If you find yourself living life “not how you dreamed”, you aren’t alone. If it breaks your heart, you aren’t alone. It’s possible to trust the Lord, His plan, enjoy his nearness, goodness, enjoy what he currently has for you and still grieve over lost dreams, over things that are not yet or may never be.

As always I love hearing your stories, whats on your heart, how I can join you in praying and rejoicing

Feel free to reach out anytime

Leave a comment